A forum for Canberra United supporters to discuss all things football in Canberra

We want you to join the Capital Punishment army on the hill side of McKellar Park, at each and every Canberra United match.
The forum has undergone a revolution... so register and voice your opinion regarding everything football in Canberra.

    United win 3 awards

    Ellie Brush

    Posts : 209
    Join date : 2009-04-26

    United win 3 awards

    Post by Raider_United on Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:19 am

    Triple treat at W-League Awards

    Monday, 7 December 2009 by Russ Gibbs, CanberraUnited.com.au

    Canberra United has won three awards at the annual Westfield W-League presentation held in Sydney today. Ray Junna and Ellyse Perry were among the individuals honoured, whilst the team also gained an accolade.

    Canberra United is delighted to announce that Ray Junna has been named joint ‘Coach of the Year’ and Ellyse Perry has been jointly awarded the ‘Young Player of the Year’ trophy, whilst the team has been honoured, along with Sydney FC, with the ‘Fair Play Award’.

    Junna collected the award as the best coach in the Westfield W-League for 2009, along with Stephen Roche of the Central Coast Mariners, as the judging panel failed to separate the achievements of the pair.

    The panel also couldn’t separate the claims of Ellyse Perry, and Brisbane Roar’s Elise Kellond-Knight, who tied for the ‘Young Player of the Year’ award. And, in an amazing first, the club also tied for the ‘Fair Play Award’ with league champions, Sydney FC.

    Award winner Ellyse Perry was ecstatic to have claimed the Young Player of the Year award in conjunction with Elise Kellond-Knight.

    “I am extremely humbled to have won this award and I certainly wasn’t expecting it,” a happy Perry said.

    “It’s been fantastic to be involved in a team like Canberra and it’s been an enjoyable experience. As I said, this was certainly unexpected, but it stems from the incredible support I have received from everyone at Canberra.”

    “All I need now is a win next weekend and then one again in a fortnight [in the Grand Final].”

    Central Coast Mariners goal-machine Michelle Heyman took out the top award, claiming the Julie Dolan Medal for the ‘Player of the Year’ along with the ‘Golden Boot’ for her 11 goals during the competition, whilst young tyro Sam Kerr of Perth Glory claimed the ‘Player’s Player of the Year’ accolade.

    Speaking at the awards ceremony, FFA CEO Ben Buckley was pleased with the second season of the women’s national league.

    “The Westfield W-League has continued this season to showcase the fine footballing talents of some of our most exciting female athletes," Buckley said.

    "This season has seen the Westfield W-League build on its place in the Australian sporting culture and shows the potential for elite female competition in Australia to continue to develop at a professional level."

    “We are very pleased with the second season of the Westfield W-League. It further cements the place of football for women and girls in the sporting landscape and gives talented female athletes a strong domestic competition,” he concluded.

    Westfield W-League Awards

    • Julie Dolan Medal - Player of the Year: Michelle Heyman (Central Coast Mariners)
    • Players’ Player of the Year: Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory)
    • Goalkeeper of the Year: Jillian Loyden (Central Coast Mariners)
    • Young Player of the Year: (tied) Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar) and Ellyse Perry (Canberra United)
    • Coach of the Year: (tied) Ray Junna (Canberra United) and Stephen Roche (Central Coast Mariners)
    • Referee of the Year: Kate Jacewicz
    • Golden Boot: Michelle Heyman (Central Coast Mariners) – 11 goals
    • Goal of the Year: Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory) – Round 8, Perth Glory v Sydney FC
    • Hat Trick Award: Michelle Heyman (Central Coast Mariners) – Round 7, Adelaide United v Central Coast Mariners and Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar) – Round 10, Newcastle United v Brisbane Roar
    • Fair Play Award: (tied) Canberra United and Sydney FC

    Ellie Brush

    Posts : 114
    Join date : 2009-07-08

    Re: United win 3 awards

    Post by mikey_porto on Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:24 am

    Ray Junna? Coach of the Year? Surprised

    Ben Williams

    Posts : 8
    Join date : 2009-09-26

    Re: United win 3 awards

    Post by Humprey on Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:10 am

    I would prefer FFA accept our bid for the A league rather than these awards.
    Ivan Slavich

    Posts : 1775
    Join date : 2009-04-14
    Other football teams : reggina, everton any other club that has an aussie

    Re: United win 3 awards

    Post by Chris1822 on Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:47 am

    mikey_porto wrote:Ray Junna? Coach of the Year? Surprised

    i've seen a vast improvement in the way we play this season going forward better than last season.

    i think junna has been good next year we should retain him to achieve maximum success out of him

    Foundation member #869

    Sponsored content

    Re: United win 3 awards

    Post by Sponsored content

      Current date/time is Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:00 am